top of page
  • Tara Thorpe

Capturing something 'unintresting'

This photography assignment really got me thinking. We were asked to take an image of something not interesting. I went out on a walk around Lincoln to see what I could find, I kept taking pictures and then would look at it and see something interesting in the image so went to try and find something else. The interesting which I noticed when looking back at all my images was that they were all very dark and neutral colours and had some industrial aspects used more for practicality than aesthetic. Some images had elements of vandalism in them such as graffiti or litter which I thought was interesting, as its bringing a societal behaviour reflection to the scene rather than focusing just on the objects context.


These were some of the photos I took during my walk to find something unintresting.

However, I do think there is a certain irony within the whole process. I went and I took images that I had interest about them being 'uninteresting', then resultantly found intrigue in my motivation behind the photo itself.



It wasn't until I got back from this walk that I thought about it in this way, as I was thinking too much into the assignment. I was very narrow minded during the walk, I got frustrated, I couldn't find the perfect image as every composition had something which personally seemed interesting (shape, colour, texture, background of the object). However, everything is interesting to somebody and this is why I struggled to find something unintresting. I kept on taking more imagery as it did not occur to me, that even if there was not a personal interest with the image, someone else may ultimately find it intriguing. Therefore maybe the truly uninteresting lies within a deeper observation of the world around me.




This was the final image I sent in. Ultimately, I chose this one whilst sitting down trying to decide what to photograph next. Then realising we walk over so many of these these plastic covers protecting us from underground maintenance. We don't often even realise that we are crossing over them and only at the point when this image was taken did I observe the frequency in which these line our towns and cities. On a personal level this was the perfect image to send in as a final because societally they are so insignificant to our lives, as we pass them without any interest






This was a really interesting post to write and this exercise really got my brain going. Thanks for reading.


Tx

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page