top of page
  • Tara Thorpe

Tate London

I recently visited the 'Artist and Society' collection at the London Tate. I am not personally a gallery goer so to speak, however I do like to indulge myself by thinking about meanings behind artwork and do easily fall in love with the visuals. I find the whole setting. of an art gallery just a place of calmness and it enables an escape from the chaos of a busy city, by virtue of these little vistas into different worlds.


Not know that this collection was going to be on when we visited, but as soon as I saw it I thought it was a great opportunity. I was able to see how designers and creatives have addressed social issues by visual mediums. Each piece can say alot to convey a narrative in such a short period of time


I know that I am more of a designer looking at the system as a whole, particularly the theory behind the problem oppose to the creative output at the end of the process. However, in order to communicate my ideas, there does need to be a visual quality to my work, which I can say I have been given great inspirations for here. The visual lens of design is crucial to ensure that a community is correctly represented and final designs piece this together giving people a story and even sending societal messages.



Tx


















4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page