top of page
  • Tara Thorpe

SEMESTER 2 START. Female Safety- The worries of walking

Updated: May 11, 2022


Could a solution be found to help the women of the world?, there has been one too many instances now where women have gone about their daily lives and not come home. Only in the past 11 months, Sarah Everard was walking on a well lit busy road at only around 9pm, Sabrina Nessa was walking through a park and Ashling Murphy was on a run. All these women were living their day to day lives and took all the precautions which women are 'expected' to take to ensure we can get home at the end of the day but sadly didn't make it back to their safe space!

We are constantly aware of our surroundings and on edge whether we go until we arrive at the safe destination, however how do we even know what is safe anymore...





There needs to be change, women should not have to be constantly thinking about the best route home, to make sure to remember to text your friend once your home as they sit and worry until they know your back, we should be able to live freely and without living in fear!




I am glad I have written this blog post to raise awareness about this massive issue. Every other week at the moment there is a new story about a women being spiked by injection, how are we meant to protect ourselves from this, we already cover our drinks, never leave them unattended and make sure we have sleeves on for extra protection. Lincoln have a girl gang safety chat which is a community created where girls can post/ report if they need help or feel unsafe and tell their stories. There are multiple posts a day about women feeling unsafe, blacking out on a night out or being treated badly by a random male on the street, that is only Lincoln alone...


There must be something which can be created to help this problem and help women reclaim the night. I would love to potentially in the future be part of this solution and help women all over the world however after writing this post I think I am too upset about the situation and believe as a designer I wouldn't be able too sit back and look at the problem as a whole and get too caught up in peoples emotions. It is also a topic which worries me a-lot and whilst still living in a city where I don't know many people I want to be aware of the current situation and educate myself on new ways to ensure safety. Although I do not consider thinking about this topic everyday would be good for me as I struggle to shut off and would constantly be worried, so think another community may be better for me to explore further into my masters. However it is good to be able to reflect my thinking and potential avenues I have thought about developing.


A very honest post today which is important to show the full affect of the problem, I hope this post helps raise awareness and someone designer can intervene to make our world a safer place to be.


Tx

14 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page