top of page
  • Tara Thorpe

Dyslexia...

A word I used to hate and keep a secret from others. A word I now use with positivity surrounding it and use my different way of thinking to my benefit. I believe my dyslexia has shaped my life and helps tremendously with creative thinking.




I struggled a lot at school and always felt very inadequate in lessons because I worked so hard a never got the results back from all the time and effort which was put in. I am so happy to finally find my purpose which uses the way I think to my benefit.

My brain is wired slightly differently than most and dyslexia is often associated with heightened visual and spatial awareness, problem-solving skills and lateral-thinking abilities.

The way people with dyslexia see the world is slightly different is beneficial during creative practice because different perspective and processes are welcome in the creative sphere. That is how we get to the best answer by communicating between teams and users, bouncing the ideas off one another to find the best solution.


Dyslexia always felt like a disadvantage to me before university, however this time has taught me to use the way I think to get to the best answer. Studying design has enabled me to be able to show my thoughts and ideas through visual means instead of through words. Creative people also demonstrate purpose directed behaviour and I believe individuals who decide to be part of the creative world can enable the perspective of their environment to be greatly enriched and seemingly more purposeful.


Tx

11 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page