top of page
  • Tara Thorpe

Museum of the Moon 🌔

What an amazing piece of art... I went to see this at the Lincoln cathedral and was the most surreal experience with lots of different emotions experienced throughout the evening.



First of all i was just taking in all it's beauty, its so distinctive in the space you can't stop yourself looking at it, every-time you look at it you notice a new shape/texture or shadow and is such a relaxing and calming thing to be part of. This piece of art has been created by Luke Jerran and touring all over the world. I was reading a bit further into this exhibition as i thought there is definitely a-lot of thought behind this then just a visual aid. The most interesting point which really made me think and something I would love my designs to incorporate is that the Moon will be presented in lots of different ways both indoor and outdoors, and depending on where the artwork is presented, it's meaning and interpretation will shift.


What is a community?




I then sat there for a while and instead of looking at the art I was looking at how people were connecting and enjoying the instillation. It was very interesting as it made me think more about the clients based in my work and how they may use the system. Luke Jerram didn't just create this for something beautiful to look like, the Moon brings communities from all different walks of lives together. The Moon creates personal stories and responses for each user which I think is an amazing part of this art. It's absolutely amazing to look at but the thing i liked is watching everyone interact and enjoy being together with something which has brought society and the world together.





I went and viewed this in the day time too just to see the difference and it was very busy. i had never seen so many people exploring the cathedral at once, not even on the Christmas market weekends and it just kept making me think how can i bring communities from all over the world together and make them feel part of something.


Tx

3 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page