top of page
  • Tara Thorpe

Tomorrow's world

Make sure you read my last post about my one day research project as this post leads on from that...


Now it's my turn to come up with something which I think needs to be invented to make the future better!




I was sitting in bed thinking about life's small problems and these are what I came up with and the little daily tasks which better solutions could be found.



















I decided to explore 'Candles which never burn out' further as I love candles and always have one burning when i'm in. I love the atmosphere candles bring and all the different scents in the flat.


However, candles can be very expensive and often are used up very quick, which leads to environmental impacts as a result of the products carbon footprint.

I explored to see if there was a way for the candle to regrow and the melted wax to turn from a liquid to solid without losing it's scent.


This was an fascinating topic to understand the science behind energy and how it is created to understand if it would be possible for a candle to re-grow and develop within itself. The video below is a good watch...





The answer to my original statement is no, because energy can't be created or destroyed so I had a think about an alternative. Wax is the traditional material to be used when making candles, although what if in the future a different material was used, one which could regrow, meaning we would have everlasting candles and never lose our favorite scent.




Mycelium, a fungus, is being newly considered to help form new building materials. Fungi is added to a mixture of components into moulds, in which bricks grow and develop over a two week period. This material is still in its developmental infancy, but this general idea of generative materiality could work well for my 'regrowing candle' idea, possibly being a new solution of creating eco friendly products.



I really enjoyed this exercise and gave me some potential ideas to further think about for my major final project.

Tx

3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page