top of page
  • Tara Thorpe

Why am I a designer ?

My tutor asked me this question during a one to one tutorial. Sitting there for a while to think I realised that I had never contemplated this before, where did my love for user centred design has come from?

During this process of thinking about, why design, the initial idea which came to me was my upbringing, I was raised a catholic and went to both a catholic primary and secondary school. Although I am not particularly religious anymore, I believe my upbringing will always shape the way I think and behave. Certain catholic values will always stay with me, allowing myself to be part of a religious community, which I believe have shaped my design development progresses.




When weighing up my options for study, it always came down to either Nursing or some form of Design. I was uncertain about the choice but now love that my path has incidentally allowed me to bring elements of the two professions together. Nursing was always a candidate for my future, I am a people person and love the concept of giving care to others. However I just know that my mind would have missed out on the creative stimulation, which adds a lot to my wellbeing. I love to focus on a project where I can bounce ideas off other people, so felt that the nursing lifestyle would not have suited me.

However I have retained the best of both worlds and found attributes from the Nursing profession in which I can connect to my creative practice, using people/communities at the forefront of my decisions


I really enjoyed thinking about this question, I never connected why I feel so strongly about design helping, caring and changing peoples lives for the better.


Tx

14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page